Bodrum- amazing food, beautiful landscapes and fairytale sunsets

I went to Bodrum because of the wedding of my friend Alex. But once I got there I realized I could not stay just for 3 days.  I decided to stay a bit longer  to enjoy last days of the sun as I know I won’t see it much when I will be back in Europe. As always when traveling I try not to stay in the hotels but I do couchsurfing and I stay with locals. I was very lucky this time and I had an amazing host-Emre who is from the city and showed me not only all must- see  but even took me to a small salsa place – Martin Cafe

What to see?

Bodrum is a lovely place located in the  southwestern part of Turkey with an amazing coast and fantastic harbour. Bodrum has an ancient castle from the 15 th century which overlooks the harbour and the marina. The best view of the castle on the other hand is on the hill with the windmills. I guarantee  the view is unforgettable.

If you want to go to the beach, Bitez has really nice ones(although I didn’t find any sandy beaches). It i salso a great place if you are into water sports like windsurfing.

Turkey is famous for its amazing cuisine. I still remember, when I was 5 years ago in Istanbul the taste of durum or kebab. This time as well I could not resisit eating all the local delicates. I had dinner in a small street close to the centre in the restaurant Meyhoneler Sokagi, where I had the best fish ever. You go there you look at the fish you like and then they cook it for you. There are lot of restaurants along the sea in the centre but this one was definetely my favorite.

Where to go out?

Bodrum is famous for its nightlife. Halikarnas is the most popular, quite posh and definetely not cheap but for the ladies they organize discounts at some nights. You have lot of international guests and good Djs.

Club Catamaran is a very original place. Glass-bottomed boat lights up the depths and you can admire the sea life while dancing. My favorite place for a drink was Deep House– amazing view on the castle, nice chillout house music and great drinks. (great place for a date;). On the main street in the centre there are lot of pubs and litle cafees with live music either turkish or western so there is always something for someone.

Turkey is a great place for holidays- great weather, nice people, amazing food. End of september, october or even november are good months to go when its not that hot but you can still get tanned.

After Bodrum and Istanbul I am ready to explore more next year. I sill have not seen Pamukkale so its a good reason to go back.

 

 

Leave a Reply

